Tuesday, May 7, 2024

Traditional Latin Mass

The Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite: The Tridentine Latin Mass

A comprehensive essay explaining what the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite Mass is, also known as the Tridentine Latin Mass or the Traditional Latin Mass (TLM). How does this compare to what is known as the Novus Ordo Mass, the Ordinary Form of the Mass that most Catholics are familiar with today?


The Roman Catholic Church, throughout its history, has seen various forms of worship develop and evolve. Among these, the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite Mass, often referred to as the Tridentine Latin Mass, holds a special place. This essay aims to provide a comprehensive explanation of this form of Mass, which is celebrated in Latin, and how it compares to the more commonly celebrated Novus Ordo Mass.

The origins and structure of the Tridentine Latin Mass

The Tridentine Mass, also known as the Traditional Latin Mass (TLM), originates from the Council of Trent (1545–1563), which sought to standardize the liturgy across the Roman Catholic Church. This form of the Mass remained largely unchanged for centuries and was codified in the Roman Missal of 1570 by Pope St. Pius V, thus earning the name "Tridentine" after the Latin name for Trent, "Tridentum."

The structure of the Tridentine Latin Mass is characterized by its formality, precision, and reverence. The Mass consists of the following key parts:
  • Prayers at the Foot of the Altar – This involves the priest and the altar servers reciting Psalm 42, expressing a longing for God's altar.
  • The Introit – A short antiphon and verse from the Psalms.
  • The Kyrie and Gloria – Petitions for mercy and a hymn of praise.
  • The Collect – A prayer expressing the theme of the day's Mass.
  • The Epistle and Gospel – Readings from the Scriptures.
  • The Offertory – Preparation of the bread and wine.
  • The Canon of the Mass – The consecration and transformation of the bread and wine into the Body and Blood of Christ.
  • The Communion Rite – Distribution of Holy Communion.
  • The Post-Communion – A final prayer of thanksgiving.
The Novus Ordo Mass: The Ordinary Form

In contrast, the Novus Ordo Mass, also known as the Mass of Paul VI or the Ordinary Form, was introduced in 1969 after the Second Vatican Council. This form of the Mass aimed to encourage greater participation from the laity, foster understanding, and accommodate vernacular languages.

The structure of the Novus Ordo is as follows:
  • The Introductory Rites – Including the Penitential Act and the Gloria.
  • The Liturgy of the Word – With readings from the Old and New Testaments and the Gospel.
  • The Liturgy of the Eucharist – Including the Eucharistic Prayer and Communion.
  • The Concluding Rites – A final blessing and dismissal.
Key differences between the two forms

While both forms share the essential elements of the Mass, they differ significantly in language, liturgical orientation, and participation.
  • Language: The Tridentine Mass is celebrated in Latin, while the Novus Ordo can be celebrated in vernacular languages or Latin.
  • Orientation: The priest in the Tridentine Mass faces ad orientem, towards the altar, while in the Novus Ordo, the priest often faces the congregation (versus populum).
  • Participation: The Tridentine Mass emphasizes the priest's role, while the Novus Ordo encourages active participation from the congregation.
  • Rituals: The Tridentine Mass contains more genuflections, signs of the cross, and other rituals compared to the Novus Ordo.
Theological and cultural implications

These differences reflect broader theological and cultural changes. The Tridentine Mass emphasizes the transcendence of God and the mystery of the Eucharist, while the Novus Ordo emphasizes community and accessibility. These forms reflect different approaches to liturgical worship, with the Tridentine Mass focusing on continuity and tradition, and the Novus Ordo emphasizing reform and adaptation.


The Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite, or the Tridentine Latin Mass, or the Traditional Latin Mass (TLM), offers a unique and deeply traditional form of worship within the Catholic Church. In comparison, the Novus Ordo Mass reflects a more modern, accessible approach to the liturgy. Both forms have their own merits and appeal, catering to different preferences within the Church. Understanding these forms helps to appreciate the rich diversity of Catholic worship within the unity of the Church, and hence the varied ways believers express their faith.

No comments:

Post a Comment